Safety Corner logo

New Chair of the Safety Committee

Safety Corner logoThe CRW Safety Committee is pleased to announce the appointment of Pierre Avignon as Committee chair. A life-long avid cyclist, Pierre joined the CRW in 2005, becoming a ride leader and joining the Safety Committee in 2006.

Pierre maintains a busy schedule filled with cycling advocacy and instructional activities. He became a League of American Bicyclists certified instructor in 2005 and teaches MassBike’s BikeEd in Newburyport, MA. He also teaches bike safety to middle school children under a program run by the New Hampshire Bike-Walk Alliance, and plans to introduce a similar program with MassBike that will eventually go statewide. In addition, Pierre is active in the local environmental group SEED (Seacoast Energy and Environmental Design), for which he leads a project to encourage Newburyport residents and visitors to use bicycles for transportation, and supports the local Coastal Trail Coalition, the Rails-to-Trails Conservancy, and the New Hampshire Bike-Walk Alliance.

When not riding with the CRW, Pierre rides with the Granite State Wheelmen, or with his six-year-old daughter (on a tag-along) and his wife, Janice.

When accepting this position, Pierre said “I am honored and humbled by this appointment, the CRW is a wonderful organization and one of the most respected in the country. Safety is a major contributing factor to this success along with the spirit and dedication of its great members. I expect to contribute to the club and, at the same time, learn from all its members”.

The Committee gratefully acknowledges the leadership of the former chair, Bob Zogg. With significant support from the CRW Rides Committee, Bob revitalized the CRW’s safety activities in late 2003 and introduced the WheelPeople Safety Corner in March 2004. He chaired the Safety Committee from its inception in April 2005.

Pierre welcomes your questions, comments, and suggestions related to safety, training, and education. You can reach Pierre at Please also feel free to talk to any of the other Safety Committee members, including John Allen, Ralph Galen, Guy Minnick, Eli Post, Paul Schimek, and Bob Zogg.

Please send corrections, additions, comments and praise to Safety Web Admin

© 1997- CRW, Inc. All rights reserved. Revised: